Real Madrid's Champions League penalty controversy no matter how good VAR is behind the manipulation[weiyuan]
2025-03-17
Early this morning in the second leg of the Champions League 1/8 final, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid in the game controversial decision, in the penalty shootout, Atletico forward Alvarez penalty, but after VAR intervention was ruled invalid (equivalent to missing the penalty), because of the "penalty kick second touch".

What is the second touch in the penalty rule?
According to Article 14 of the FIFA Rules of the Game, the kicker is only allowed to touch the ball once in the course of taking the penalty, otherwise the penalty will be awarded, the penalty will be converted to a free kick for the defending team, and the "two touches" in the penalty shootout will be awarded (if) the goal is not allowed.
The purpose of this rule is to prevent players from making unfair shot attempts, such as flicking the ball forward on the first touch, closing the distance before shooting, etc.
According to the penalty two-touch rule, in sports, if the penalty taker shoots the ball back on the goalframe, he shoots the second time into the net, and no other players touch the ball in the process, then this is a more typical second touch.
There is also a common situation that the kicker's supporting foot slips and continuously touches the ball with his feet, even if the ball eventually flies into the net, it will be judged as a second touch.
Look at a typical case, this is the year Leicester City and Manchester City battle, Mahrez this (GIF).

Atletico's Alvarez was ruled invalid, which also applies to this case. His left foot slipped slightly and approached the ball, and the shot from his right foot seemed to skim the instep of his left foot.
But it must be pointed out that, compared with Mahrez's clear second touch, it is difficult to judge whether Alvarez really has real contact.
When Alvarez's left foot slides to the penalty spot, the right foot has shot the ball, and it is the trajectory of upward flight, whether the ball has contact with the left foot that is close to the turf, even the slow mirror replay is difficult to determine 100 percent.
Atletico coach Simeone was furious after the game, and he shouted at reporters at the press conference: "You see? What do you see? Did he touch the ball? Don't worry, if anyone sees him with a second touch, please raise your hand! No hands up? Then jump to the next question!"
Alvarez's VAR intervention in this ball has triggered another topic, how big is the human factor behind VAR?
Generally speaking, the presentation effect of VAR multi-angle replay is very authoritative, but it must be admitted that there are still some situations on the pitch that are difficult to identify even if you repeatedly watch the replay.
Look at VAR, which balls call VAR, behind the human factor.
In other words, even if the rules are clear, there are vague gray Spaces for implementation.
Take Mahrez for example.
According to another rule, when a penalty is taken in a sports game, if a defending player enters the penalty area in advance, the penalty is counted as scored and the penalty missed needs to be rekicked.
As we all know, in the process of penalty taking, if the referee wants to carefully investigate with VAR, then the situation that the defender enters the penalty area in advance is likely to exist in large numbers, which provides the referee with the possibility of artificial ruling.
Back to Mahrez for the ball.
Before he took the second touch, the defending Manchester City player had entered the penalty area in advance, if the referee had the heart, it could be ruled that Manchester City entered the penalty area in advance in accordance with the rules, so that the penalty was heavy. However, the referee did not make such a ruling, and still awarded the penalty violation, and Manchester City took a free kick in the penalty area.
So you can see, even with the VAR, whether the ball should be given a heavy penalty or a two-touch violation is actually in the hands of the referee, it's up to him to decide what he wants.
Article 5 of the Football Competition Rules states: "The referee has discretion within the framework of the rules and his decision will be made by the referee in accordance with the rules of football competition and the 'spirit of the game', based on his own opinion."
Going back to the Alvarez ball, perhaps this attached video will provide a different reference.
Whether there is a second touch, even if it is a multi-angle replay (including a positive high shot), it is difficult to judge 100%, "second touch" is more like a subjective speculation based on VAR, in this case, the final decision is still the referee's eyes and hearts.